Public Document Pack



Town Hall, Upper Street, London, N1 2UD

AGENDA FOR PERSONNEL SUB-COMMITTEE

Members are summoned to a meeting of the Personnel Sub-Committee to be held in Room G08 on, **19 December 2016 at 6.00 pm.**

Stephen Gerrard Director of Law and Governance

| Enquiries to | : | Philippa Green |
|--------------|---|----------------------------|
| Tel | : | 020 7527 3184 |
| E-mail | : | democracy@islington.gov.uk |
| Despatched | : | 9 December 2016 |

Membership 2016/17

Substitute Members

Councillor Satnam Gill OBE (Chair) Councillor Flora Williamson (Vice-Chair) Councillor Jilani Chowdhury Councillor Andy Hull Councillor Richard Watts Councillor Janet Burgess MBE Councillor Joe Caluori Councillor Kaya Comer-Schwartz Councillor Asima Shaikh Councillor Diarmaid Ward Councillor Claudia Webbe

Quorum: is 3 Councillors



A. Formal Matters

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 2. Declarations of Substitute Members
- 3. Declarations of Interest
- 4. Non-exempt Minutes of the meeting held on 6 September 2016 1 2

B. Exclusion of Press and Public

To consider whether, in view of the nature of the remaining items on the agenda, any of them are likely to involve the disclosure of exempt or confidential information within the terms of the Access to Information Procedure rules in the Constitution and, if so, whether to exclude the press and public during discussion thereof.

5. Shortlisting of Service Director Adult Social Care (Operations) and Service 3 - 6 Director Adult Social Care (Strategy & Commissioning)

The next meeting of the Personnel Sub-Committee will be on 20 December 2016

Agenda Item 4

London Borough of Islington

Personnel Sub-Committee - 6 September 2016

Minutes of the meeting of the Personnel Sub-Committee held at Committee Room 4, Town Hall, Upper Street, N1 2UD on 6 September 2016 at 12.30 pm.

Present:Councillors:Hull, Watts and WilliamsonAlsoCouncillor:CaluoriPresent:Caluori

Councillor Williamson in the Chair

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Item 1)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Gill and Chowdhury.

2 DECLARATION OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS (Item 2)

Councillor Caluori attended as a substitute for Councillor Williamson during the interviews for the Independent Person on Standards Committee.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 3)

None.

4 <u>MINUTES OF THE MEETINGS OF 12 FEBRUARY 2016, 23 FEBRUARY 2016 AND 22</u> JULY 2016 (Item 4)

RESOLVED:

That the minutes be agreed as a correct record of the meeting and the Chair be authorised to sign them.

5 <u>APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBERS (Item 5)</u>

EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting as the presence of members of the public and press could result in the disclosure of exempt information within the terms of the Access to Information Procedures Rules in the Constitution.

The sub-committee considered four short-listed applicants for two posts of Independent Member of Audit Committee and one shortlisted applicant for the post of Independent Person, Standards Committee.

RESOLVED:

That Alan Begg and Nick Whitaker be appointed as Independent Members on Audit Committee and that Rosalind Stevens be appointed as Independent Person on Standards Committee in accordance with the procedures set out in the Council's Constitution.

6 APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBERS EXEMPT APPENDIX (Item 6)

Noted.

The meeting ended at 6.00 pm

CHAIR

Agenda Item 5

By virtue of paragraph(s) 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

Document is Restricted

This page is intentionally left blank